Space News space history and artifacts articles Messages space history discussion forums Sightings worldwide astronaut appearances Resources selected space history documents Websites related space history websites


                  arrow advertisements

collectSPACE: The Source for Space History and Artifacts
[ About ] [ Search ] [ Contact ]     

June 20, 2019

/ 12:00 a.m. CT (0500 GMT)


Marshmallow moon

: With just one month to go until the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, Oreo's limited edition cookies celebrating the 1969 mission have landed in stores. Embossed with space-theme images and filled with purple creme, the Marshmallow Moon Oreos come in glow-in-the-dark packs with moon landing stickers.


June 18, 2019

/ 12:00 a.m. CT (0500 GMT)


Restored to display

: Almost a year after the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex took its Saturn IB rocket off exhibit to be restored, the booster is back on display. Now ready for the decades to come, the rocket is the last of its type to retain its flight configuration. Before being retired this Saturn IB stood ready to support a Skylab rescue flight and was the backup to the Apollo-Soyuz launch vehicle.


June 17, 2019

/ 12:00 a.m. CT (0500 GMT)


Filled with history

: Fifty years after serving up its sweet treats at the launch of Apollo 11, Krispy Kreme is celebrating the lunar landing with the debut of a new doughnut. A twist on the company's classic glazed pastry, the new Original Filled doughnut comes in two filling flavors. "That's one small bite for man, one giant leap for doughnut kind."


June 16, 2019

/ 8:32 a.m. CT (1332 GMT)


Real-time replay

: In one month, on July 16, clicking the "Now" button on Ben Feist's new website will take you back to the liftoff of the first moon landing mission 50 years ago. The site, Apollo 11 in Real Time, replays all of the existing film footage, TV video and audio as it happened, to the second — much of it rarely if ever seen or heard by the public before. The site also features every photo and every lunar sample collected during the nine-day lunar mission.


June 14, 2019

/ 4:45 p.m. CT (2145 GMT)


Destination Cincinnati

: A new fifth and final stop has been added to the Smithsonian tour of the spacecraft that flew the first astronauts to land on the moon. "Destination Moon: The Apollo 11 Mission" traveling exhibition will go from Seattle to Cincinnati in September for its display at the Cincinnati Museum Center through February 2020.


June 12, 2019

/ 1:00 p.m. CT (1800 GMT)


Hidden Figures Way

: A street sign revealed on Wednesday (Jun 12) renames the road in front of NASA Headquarters for the agency's early female workforce. Hidden Figures Way honors human computers Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson and Katherine Johnson, who were the focus of Margot Shetterly's similarly-titled 2016 book and the film it inspired, as well as all of the women who served NASA.


June 11, 2019

/ 3:00 p.m. CT (2000 GMT)


StarWalker

: Montblanc's new luxury pen line aims to capture the astronauts' view of Earth from beyond the moon. The StarWalker pens feature a blue translucent dome representing Earth's "brilliance and preciousness," among other details evoking the blackness of space and astronaut experience. Montblanc worked with former NASA astronaut Leroy Chiao to interpret and launch the StarWalker line.


June 10, 2019

/ 12:00 a.m. CT (0500 GMT)


Case history

: Zero Halliburton is celebrating its role in the first moon landing 50 years ago with new limited edition technical cases. The small and medium size Apollo 11 50th cases were inspired by the containers that returned the first moon rocks to Earth. Limited to 50 each, both sizes are engraved with NASA's Apollo 50th logo and come with an embroidered anniversary cap and dust bag to match.


June 7, 2019

/ 1:30 p.m. CT (1830 GMT)


Space (station) available

: NASA is opening use of the International Space Station to for-profit activities including private astronauts in a bid to grow a low Earth orbit economy. The space agency's new directive, as announced on Friday (June 7), enables production and manufacturing on the space station, as well as marketing and commercial projects. The directive sets out prices to offset NASA's cost of operating the orbiting outpost and use of its resources.


June 5, 2019

/ 5:00 p.m. CT (2200 GMT)


'One Small Step' act

: New legislation seeks to keep Tranquility Base tranquil. Sponsored by Sen. Gary Peters, the "One Small Step to Protect Human Heritage in Space Act" would require U.S. federal agencies to add NASA's lunar artifact protection and preservation recommendations to any licenses authorizing U.S. missions to the moon. The bill also calls for treaties to apply to international missions.


June 4, 2019

/ 4:35 p.m. CT (2135 GMT)


Apollo at the Park

: Baseball fans seeking a cold drink or hot dog at Nationals Parks may now catch sight of space history on their way to and from their seats. An interactive statue of Neil Armstrong's Apollo spacesuit debuted Tuesday (June 4) as part of the Smithsonian's Apollo at the Park program, which will span 15 Major League ballparks.


June 4, 2019

/ 11:55 a.m. CT (1655 GMT)


ISS tops LEGO vote

: A LEGO fan vote has chosen the International Space Station to be made into a toy brick model. Christoph Ruge designed the space station set that garnered the 10,438 votes to win the LEGO Ideas poll, surpassing models of Disney's animated alien Stitch, Sega arcade machines and Nathan Sawaya's sculpture "Yellow." LEGO plans to release the space station set in 2020.


June 3, 2019

/ 7:30 p.m. CT (0030 GMT Jun 4)


For All Mankind

: Fifty years ago, the United States declared victory in its space race with the Soviet Union by landing the first humans on the moon. But what if a Soviet cosmonaut had been first? "For All Mankind," premiering with the Apple TV+ streaming service in the fall, focuses on that alternate history, as developed by Ronald D. Moore.


May 30, 2019

/ 8:00 a.m. CT (1300 GMT)




LEGO Eagle has landed

: NASA's Apollo 11 lunar lander will touch down in LEGO Stores on Saturday (June 1) in celebration of the 50 years since the first moon landing mission in July 1969. The detailed model was revealed on Thursday (May 30), at the same time as seven new City Mars Exploration sets developed in partnership with NASA.


May 29, 2019

/ 12:00 a.m. CT (0500 GMT)


Moon machete

: Fifty years ago, a Case M-1 machete flew to the moon and back with the first astronauts to reach the lunar surface. A replica of the same knife, made by the same company, is now available as an anniversary commemorative. Case is offering the Astronaut M-1 in both open and limited editions, the latter inside a shadow box.


[ browse earlier updates ]

  collectSPACE RSS

© 2019 collectSPACE.com [email protected]
 
Upcoming space events:

Auction [6/20]
Apollo 11 50th Anniversary
RR Auction

Celebration [7/16-24]
Apollo 11 50th Anniversary
venues worldwide

                      arrow more events

Newly Added Sightings:
[07/13]  Beth Moses
[07/13]  Sandy Magnus
[07/21]  Mike Collins
Poppy Northcutt
Peggy Whitson

                  arrow more sightings

                  arrow advertisements







Buy Best Cheap NHL jerseys Online Wholesale Replica Cheap MLB Jerseys Replica Soccer Jerseys Wholesale NBA jerseys Wholesale Cheap MLB Jerseys From China 0k's - We Share News AIR's duck All Sports Share News Pitty's News Cheap Wholesale NFL Jerseys USA Cheap NBA Jerseys